You are here

College of Law announces faculty appointments

Boyd Law Building

The University of Iowa College of Law is pleased to announce four new faculty appointments:

John AllenProfessor John Allen has been named the Herschel G. Langdon Clinical Professor of Law. Allen, who joined the Iowa Law faculty in 1990, works with his students to represent clients before courts and administrative agencies in a broad range of civil matters. Much of his work has focused on employment law.


Andy GrewalProfessor Andy Grewal has been named the Joseph F. Rosenfield Fellow in Law. Grewal, who joined the Iowa faculty in 2011, studies the intersections between tax, administrative law, and statutory interpretation. He has testified in Congress on tax administration issues, and his scholarship in that area has formed the basis for several taxpayer challenges to the Treasury's regulatory authority.


Professor Jason Rantanen has been named the Ferguson-Carlson Fellow in Law and Director of the Innovation, Business and Law Program.  Rantanen, who joined the Iowa Law faculty in 2011, writes in the areas of patents, federal courts, and empirical legal studies. He is also a co-author of the widely-read PatentlyO law blog.


Maya SteinitzProfessor Maya Steinitz has been named the Bouma Family Fellow in Law. Steinitz, who joined the Iowa Law faculty in 2011, studies a wide range of topics in public and business international law, transnational dispute resolution, and the global legal profession. She is one of the nation’s leading experts on litigation finance.

News Section: