The University of Iowa
Return to top

Professor Onwuachi-Willig to Receive Clyde Ferguson Award

Professor Onwuachi-Willig was selected to receive the AALS Minority Groups Section's highest honor for senior faculty: Clyde Ferguson, Jr. Award.  She will be the co-recipient with Mario Barnes, UCI Law.  This award will make Professors Barnes and Onwuachi-Willig the first people to have received both the Derrick A. Bell, Jr. Award and the Clyde Ferguson, Jr. Award.

As the description indicates, "[t]he Clyde Ferguson Award, named in honor Professor C. Clyde Ferguson, Jr.-the second tenured African American on the Harvard Law School faculty-is granted to an outstanding law teacher, who in the course of his or her career has achieved excellence in the areas of public service, teaching and scholarship. . . .   The Award is particularly aimed at law teachers who have provided support, encouragement and mentoring to colleagues, students, and aspiring legal educators. All current and former professional legal educators are eligible including administrators, librarians, clinical faculty, legal writing teachers, tenure track and tenured faculty, as long as they have served more than seven years in legal academia at the time of the Award."

The award will be presented at the Section's Luncheon on Monday, January 5, at the AALS Meeting in D.C.

Angela Onwuachi-Willig