University of Iowa
Return to top

Results of the 34th Roy L. Stephenson Competition

The 34th Annual Roy L. Stephenson Trial Advocacy Competition concluded on Saturday October 15 with the final competitive rounds and the annual Banquet.  The final four trials were presided over by federal judges CJ Williams, ’88, Thad Collins, ’90, Paul Kilburg, and state Magistrate Kristofer Lyons, ‘04. The winners of the Competition were announced at the Banquet.  They are Kimberley DePalma 2L (Best Advocate), Caleb Copely 3L, Sarah Dickhut 3L, Jessica Donels 3L, Hannah Graber 3L and Michael Stern 2L.  These students will comprise the College of Law team competing in the National Trial Competition sponsored by the American College of Trial Lawyers.  Their coach will again be Megan Dimitt, ’10, of LedererWestonCraig in Cedar Rapids. 

The Banquet also featured an after dinner speech by David Dutton, ’60, of Dutton, Braun, Staack & Hellman of Waterloo and the award of the Richard L. Glovka Scholarship to Roxane Janicsek 3L  Last year’s NTC team concluded the Competition by reaching the Semifinals at Nationals in Dallas, in the top eight teams out of 175 law school that participated.  That team was composed of Vincent Geis, ’16, now of Shuttleworth & Ingersoll in Cedar Rapids, Caleb Copely 3L, and Hannah Graber 3L and was coached Adjunct Professor Megan Dimitt.  At the Banquet, the team formally presented  the trophy cup to the College of Law.

Group of nine. Winners of competition:  Banquet Speaker David Dutton, ’60, Dutton, Braun, Staack & Hellman, Waterloo, Dimitt, Jessica Donels 3L, Sarah Dickhut 3L, Kimberley DePalma 2L Michael Stern 2L, Caleb Copely 3L, Whiston, Hannah Graber 3L