Thursday, June 2, 2022

Peter Thorne, professor of occupational and environmental health in the College of Public Health, and Lea VanderVelde, professor of law and the Josephine R. Witte Chair, have been named recipients of the 2022 University of Iowa Distinguished Chair.

Professor Lea VanderVelde at the Wisconsin State Capitol
Lea VanderVelde, professor of law and the Josephine R. Witte Chair, was recognized for her exceptional teaching, scholarship, and service.

The award is one of the highest bestowed on Iowa faculty. It recognizes tenured scholars of national and international distinction who are making a significant positive impact within the university, state of Iowa, and beyond through teaching, research, and/or scholarship.

“The University of Iowa Distinguished Chair rewards and recognizes some of the most exceptional members of our community of scholars, who have earned national and international distinction,” says Kevin Kregel, executive vice president and provost. “Professors Thorne and VanderVelde have outstanding records of scholarship, teaching, and service, and their work not only contributes to the institution, but to the state of Iowa and beyond.”

In addition to support for their professional activities, Thorne and VanderVelde will hold the title of University of Iowa Distinguished Chair for the duration of their faculty appointments at Iowa. VanderVelde will relinquish her endowed position to accept the University of Iowa Distinguished Chair.

Read the full article: University of Iowa Distinguished Chairs named