Tuesday, September 27, 2022

The Iowa Law School Foundation (ILSF) is proud to announce the election of three new alumni board members: Cindy Lande (10JD), Amy Wilson (09JD), and Gretchen Wolf (02JD).

"The ILSF is thrilled to welcome Cindy, Amy and Gretchen to its Board of Directors. These new directors bring a wide range of experience to the ILSF and are passionate about the Iowa College of Law. We look forward to welcoming them in person at our October board meeting," shared Karin Nelsen (93JD), executive vice president and chief legal officer for the Minnesota Vikings and the vice president of the Iowa Law School Foundation.  

Founded in 1952, the mission of the Iowa Law School Foundation is to serve, advance and support the Iowa Law School. For 70 years, it has provided financial support to College of Law students, faculty, and a myriad of important legal  educational and professional programs. 

Read more about the recently elected board members.

Cindy Lande

Cindy Lande  |  Class of 2010  |  Des Moines, Iowa 

Cindy Lande graduated with Distinction from Iowa State University in 2007 with degrees in accounting and finance and received her law degree in 2010, with Distinction, from the University of Iowa College of Law. 

Cindy is a member of the BrownWinick law firm in Des Moines and is currently on the firm's Executive Committee. Her practice is primarily transactional, with an emphasis on tax and employee benefits. She has successfully completed the CPA exam, and often works closely with her clients' accounting team on legal issues. As co-chair of the firm's Women in Business practice group, many of her clients are female business owners in the state of Iowa and she currently serves on the board of Metro Women Connect and is actively involved with the Iowa Chapter of the National Association of Women Business Owners.

Amy Wilson

Amy Wilson  |  Class of 2009  |  Atlanta, Georgia 

Amy Wilson graduated cum laude from the University of Iowa with a BBA in 2006 and with her law degree in 2009. She is a partner at Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner (BCLP) in Atlanta where she advises private and public companies in connection with mergers and acquisitions, corporate governance matters, and general corporate matters. She brings experience leading complex crossborder M&A transactions, special purpose acquisition company transactions, internal restructurings, spinoffs, and divestitures. Amy represents private equity firms in their acquisitions, dispositions, recapitalizations, and financings, as well as private founder-owned companies and publicly traded companies. 

Wilson also serves as Chair of the Atlanta Recruiting Committee for BCLP and is the Inclusion and Diversity Team Leader for the BCLP Corporate Transactions practice group. 

Gretchen Wolf  |  Class of 2002  |  Chicago, Illinois  

Gretchen Wolf

Gretchen Wolf graduated magna cum laude from Drake University in 1998 and the University of Iowa College of Law with High Distinction in 2002. She clerked for the Honorable David Hansen on the US Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit following graduation and then joined Skadden in Chicago. She is a partner in Litigation, specifically focused on Government Enforcement and White Collar Crime. She has represented corporations and individuals in many regulatory and government enforcement investigation matters and has assisted boards and audit committees in conducting internal ones. She also has experience advising on cross-border investigations, and has counseled clients on transaction due diligence, compliance matters and employee training. Additionally, she advises clients on a variety of ESG-related issues.  

Wolf is the co-chair of the Skadden’s Global Women’s Initiatives Committee and serves on the advisory selection committee for the Skadden Fellowship program. She also currently serves on the firm’s Electronic Discovery Committee and has assisted in developing manuals and training presentations regarding electronic discovery best practices. Additionally, she has represented pro bono clients in a variety of immigration matters and serves on the board of directors for the National Immigrant Justice Center and the Chicago Foundation for Women. 

In addition to the the election of three new board members, four distinguished former alumni board members were elected to Honorary Director status.

  • Ray Beebe (67JD) Ray served six terms on the ILSF board, stepping down in June 2022. He served on the Alumni Engagement committee.
  • Steve Morain (71JD) Steve served six terms on the ILSF board, stepping down in June 2022. He chaired Governance and Nominating and served as Treasurer and Vice President of the Board.
  • Kim Walker (79JD) Kim joined the board in 2014 and served until 2021. He served as chair of the Development committee (taking over the role when Rob Youle became president in 2018). He also served on the Law Dean search committee that resulted in the hiring of Dean Washburn.
  • C. Dana Waterman III (71JD) Dana served six terms on the ILSF board, stepping down in June 2022. He co-chaired the Iowa Inspired campaign with Rob Youle and then served as president of the board from 2014 to 2018.